From Almond Trees to Hearts in Long Bay: Jamaica’s Unexpected Treasures

Hearts and rectangles seem to be a perpetual combination on architecture in Jamaican houses in the Portland parish of the Island, on its east coast.

Hearts and rectangles seem to be regular features in Portland houses

Along the main road of Long Bay in Jamaica’s Portland coast, one can find many almond trees and hearts scattered in unexpected places.

I went for a walk to take in the local scenery that surrounds the beautiful areas around Long Bay, and was blown away by the breathtaking views of the blue mountain range which runs along Jamaica’s east coast.  My walks have led me to unexpected discoveries and seeming testimonies of love and partnership that speak to eternity.

At times haunting in the quiet beauty and the solitude that it has presented thus far, my time on the island continues to remind me of rebirth and regeneration, and I find the stories that are contained within the mundane are what draw me out the most.

Walking on a path of scattered almond leaves… #smalljoys

A post shared by Raad Rahman (@siameseorchid) on

Sitting under the almond tree is fast becoming one of my favorite things to do in Jamaica. It was a half moon less than a week ago, and to think the moon will be full tonight makes me appreciate this sliver of a piece that I saw recently

#moonscapes #underthealmondtree #bostonbay #Jamaica

A post shared by Raad Rahman (@siameseorchid) on

Friends, I am also just beginning to use Instagram, and you can follow me @siameseorchid. I somehow made this account years ago, and am not sure how to get out of it, but hope you will be cool with it.

Cheers and one love to all from Jamaica, as the sun sets here behind the mountains

2 thoughts on “From Almond Trees to Hearts in Long Bay: Jamaica’s Unexpected Treasures

Leave a Reply

