How to Handle a Bully

“Nobody in school speaks to me.”

“Why?”

“They think I’m weird because I can’t hear very well. They act like I’m stupid and they mimic me whenever I speak.”

“Were you born with hearing problems?”

“No, there was a flood in the town I lived in when I was growing up when I was three years old. I fell in the water, and I am lucky to survive.”

“What do you do when they make fun of you.”

“I laugh. The thing is, if you spend too long crying when someone is putting you down, you lose sight of the fact that there actually isn’t anything wrong with you. I laugh, because when I do, they don’t know what to do, and they leave me alone.”

(Dacope, Bangladesh)

Photo by UNICEF/Shafiqul Alam Kiron

0078-Dacope-29July-2013

 

 

Leave a Reply

