Of Pigeon Loving

 

 

Khulna Railway Station Pigeon Diversion

“I was arrested and taken to the police station because I stole four pigeons. Some men came from the community and they counseled me about why I stole the pigeons. But they felt sorry for me and they let me go.”

“Why did you steal the pigeons?”

“I already had 12 birds. I love pigeons. One day I saw that some of the other boys also had four pigeons and I couldn’t resist. I stole them. But I think the police should have never arrested me.”

“What makes you say that?”

” Well, the other boys beat me up and stole all 12 of my pigeons before they called the police to arrest me. Nothing happened to them though.”

“What did you learn from this experience?”

“That if you steal from someone, they can do horrible things to you, and the cycle doesn’t stop there. After the community members counseled me, they all chipped in to buy me a bicycle, so that I could cycle to my school, which is twenty minutes away away bicycling. But last week, someone stole my bicycle and now I have to walk an hour to get to school.”

“Do you enjoy school?”

“Yes, I found out that I can learn all about animals and how to take care of them. I want to be a bird vet when I grow up, and I can only become a vet if I go to school.”

This conversation took places as part of a human interest story journey across Bangladesh’s Sunderban regions for UNICEF in August 2013. The photo is courtesy of UNICEF/Shafiqul Alam Kiron.

 

 

Leave a Reply

