Changing and Learning: Messages on the Move

Changing and Learning: Messages on the Move

Whilst running to meet a friend for pizza off Union Square sometime in late spring, 2011, I passed this sign next to some garbage bins.

I have often found that when I am traveling, it is in those days when I am moving from place to place, that little fragments and quotes others have used captivate me. Particularly, it is always interesting to see how signs can be used to describe people’s personal experiences.

Whether we are looking for tiptops to roll back towards us, wondering when we will understand the inexplicable coincidences which we notice throughout our days, I always find it gladdening, that there is so much scope for absorbing all that is around us.

We have so much to learn, but the more we look, the more refined and defined we can make our questions.

We never go into the same river twice, Hegel reminds us, because water is always moving. Since humans are 70% water, and so is the earth, and the earth is always moving, isn’t it true then, that movement is what allows us to see new things, as long as we are open minded?

Who knew such succinct wisdom was lurking next to a dumpster in a quiet street off Park Avenue? New York never ceases to amaze me.

 

3 thoughts on “Changing and Learning: Messages on the Move

  1. I try to learn something new, everyday. That is not to say just something I did not know before but something I did not believe before. Now I knew that learning new things changes me and the way I view the world, but now I have a great line to go along with it. Thanks for sharing. I will use your blog as my prompt for tomorrow.

    Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much. Smile!
    Carl

    • Thank you so much for your vote of confidence and for using my blog as a prompt. I hope it continues to inspire you. You’re right… live well, laugh often, and love much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

