10 Things I Learned at (Bard) College Which I Couldn’t Have Possibly Picked Up Elsewhere

When I first traveled to upstate New York to begin college at Bard, I took a cab ride from Poughkeepsie to Annandale with a taxi driver who decided to give me some unsolicited advice.

“You should transfer to Vassar College,” he said.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

Unlike most of my freshman peers and classmates, Bard WAS one of my top choices of institutions to attend, and being told that I should have maybe gone to Vassar, was severely unsettling, hence.

Perhaps it was because I had long known that I wanted to write, and Bard, with its reputation as a mecca for writers cum professors such as Chinua Achebe or Mary Caponegro, has, in recent years, become an unparalleled meeting point for avant garde loving students to gather and explore. But whereas most teenagers searching for colleges usually seem to look for the proximity of a large city, I wanted to be close enough to NYC without being overwhelmed by the millions on unknown faces and distractions, and the idea of the tiny classroom settings with a student teacher ratio of 4:1 sounded like heaven for my impressionable mind.

When I found out that the campus was set in manicured lawns, boasted a waterfall, and that the Hudson river and Catskill mountains were a mere stone’s throw away, I was sold.

Yet, as we neared the eccentrically designed campus, I found myself in doubt about what I was getting myself into by not going somewhere mainstream, or Ivy League, or both.

Certainly, I had the grades and the “exotic” background (rolling my eyes) to have done so quite easily, but years down the line, I am incredibly glad that I went to a small liberal arts college that was neither Jackie Onassis Kennedy’s alma mater, nor one that gave birth to the likes of George Bush Jr.

Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Ar...

Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA. Architect Frank Gehry

Little did I know that the quiet, shy high school geek I had been would go on to be sporting a Tarzan/Jane inspired leopard print excuse of a bikini outfit to a drag race that frequently ranked as Rolling Stones’ Top 100 College parties (until it was shut down due to its excessive hedonism); become part of the International Students’ Organization’s executive body, work as an elected official of the student judiciary board, put in so many hours in the Dean’s of Student Affair’s Office that the dean’s assistant would frequently make cookies for me, move on and off campus, double major in Anthropology and Literature whilst working 20 hours a week on on-campus jobs to make ends meet, take an eye-opening trip to work in an elementary school located in a slum in Bangladesh over one summer in a fully funded competitive fellowship, or that my  research would go on to win the best honors thesis in the Anthropology department during my senior year, and that my writing thesis would come a close second.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

The short end of it is that this little college campus located in upstate New York changed me in a way that almost all of us who take our college education seriously are compelled to report back about.

Before I went to college, I had been quietened by the experiences of witnessing several excessive acts of violence and religious communalism, both in India and in Bangladesh during the fractured political regimes that frequently ruptured the possibility of peace for most of the days of my youth, and retreated into Gargantua and Pantaguel when met with the proximity of the “cool kids” who harass so many of us in our high school days.

Fellow Bardians, in a completely different manner to most of those I had encountered before, refused to let me take a back seat on my life, from the second I walked into my first classroom setting.

What Bard did for me is provide an unequivocal space to speak up against experienced political horrors without being ostracized.

Doing thus in a college which was the first one among all American liberal arts colleges to establish a human rights major, whilst analytically contextualizing these very traumas, allowed me to proactively address the roots of injustice through engaging in a compendium of disciplines and extracurricular activities.

Speaking up in a school that is frequently called elitist and apparently fosters only such a student body, is perhaps giving privilege center stage to the already privileged, whilst Guha would be screaming about the subaltern context and Spivak shaking her head in horror about how conformist I am, or how arrogant to be denying my own circumstances.

I am not, however, belittling my own privilege by any means. I have long known that my life is exceptional, but that’s a different tale altogether.

Blythewood - Bard College

What I’m saying is this: Bard is always accepting of cutting edge, and in fact, constantly and consistently encourages and celebrates those who seek entrepreneurship and difference, and in doing thus, actively recruits and trains those who push the boundaries of what acceptability are, or who question what normalcy can be. 

Indeed, the Bard alumni’s continual fear that the school is increasingly copping out in favor of the mainstream non-Birkenstock wearing, non-tree hugging wannabe hipster is enough to showcase how unique Bard is (read: the old school Bardian’s utmost horror at the lack of dreadlocks seen amongst each entering freshman class).

After having incurred enough student loans to possibly estrange myself from the supposed elitist status quo, even if perhaps inadequately to the quizzical mind,  I can say with absolute conviction, that I wouldn’t have traded my college experience at Bard for anything else in the entire world.

There are ten things I’ve learnt at Bard, which I’m sure I would never have picked up elsewhere:

1. There is nothing worse than becoming a private individual. Embrace your public personality, because it is your responsibility to the person you’re meant to become.

During the Class of 2006’s graduation dinner, the college’s president Leon Botstein, fondly referred to by us students as Leon, gave one of his regularly eloquent speeches. He said that it’s the worst disservice we can do to our minds, and ourselves, to shy away from speaking up in the face of injustice, and equally terrible to hide in private.

Leon Botstein WXBC

Leon Botstein

“You belong to the world,” Leon said. “Don’t be afraid to be a part of it.”

Whenever I’ve lost focus and wanted to shrink, I remember the meaning behind these words: embrace your fears and work on remaining a public personality.

2. People are always happy to help a stranger in need.

When hunting for a job in NYC after graduating, I often cursed Bard for not having an adequate career development office (I was asked to google jobs I wanted to apply for!), or a suitable network.

I was wrong.

Bardians helped me meet some folks who have changed the entire fabric of everything I have gone on to accomplish in human rights and in the arts.

The trick was to begin to listen, to go to alumni events, to call up different alumni and ask for tea or coffee or even five minutes of their busy schedules (the short end of networking is that people love talking about themselves, and if you get them started, chances are you’re not going to have to pay for that coffee).

Obviously, going to NYC may have helped too. Many people in the publishing and arts world know Bard in New York, and they respect the vision fostered by the school’s ventures into adolescent education, and providing a space for the two nation theory through the establishment of the ONLY American university to have a presence in Gaza.

Bardians always helped me out when I got myself into a pickle (if you know anything about midget me, it’s that I always manage to find myself in the most ludicrous situations), and they introduced me to others who were experts in whatever I was seeking, even when they themselves did not hold answers.

3. It’s okay not to know what you want to do in life, as long as you stay productive.

I’ve often switched careers- from the arts world to human rights to international relations. From law to writing and development to events management, Bard has taught me that with the right mindset, flexibility is possible, and versatility allows you to remain calm under pressure, whilst staying focused on getting what needs to be done, and honing in on your managing and directorial skills in the process.

I worked my way through college, but in between writing papers whilst folks lifted weights in the gym and I monitored them and planning weekend parties for the student body, I came to gather skills that later on became the essential selling points in scoring jobs.

Even in the few months of unemployment straight after college when I received 16 job offers at publishing houses and law firms, only to have the majority of them rescinded because employers were unkeen to take on the exorbitant prices of keeping me in as a “skilled” native English speaker when others were available at a less cost consuming price, I stayed proactive.

Whether it was in increasing my cultural acumen through museum visits, or taking photographs, or volunteering for the River to River Festival in Manhattan, or working on the quarterly special issues of US News and World Report, I partook in educating myself constantly through  activities which later helped me score my first “real” job at the Asia Society and stay on in New York for five and a half exceptional years.

4. Don’t be afraid to edit.

A man who had attended Harvard about the time I was born, Ben LaFarge is one of Bard’s most incredible Literature professors, and I’m honored to have worked very closely with him. At once engaging and nonchalant, LaFarge is quite the force to contend with, and he’s told more than two generations of us lost wanderlust-ridden “writers” to take control of our fates and futures, in his beautifully typewritten letters.

On my first proper meeting with Ben over my thesis, he circled ONE sentence out of the thirty pages I turned in, and said, “I think you’ve got a great start here; scrap the rest.”

I did.

And I’m eternally grateful I did so.

Being able to edit without holding onto each word you’ve written as though they’re so glorious that they showcase the epitome of perfection is akin to growing up.

Stone Row dormitories built in the 1880s - Bar...

Stone Row, Bard campus

When the time to edit my Anthropology thesis came around, I was able to scrap 70 pages of work done over the course of a semester into a single footnote, having realized that my work lacked the direction I wanted to push it into.

Doing thus helped sharpen my articulations, and also made me realize that there is a space and time for certain words, and letting go is what controls these variables.

5. Walk away from mediocrity, and shy away from “mainstream.”

Before Bard, if you asked me to tell you my name, I would have turned the deepest shade of crimson that my brown skin would have allowed me to take on.

Additionally, I would have possibly allowed you to trample all over me regarding my taste in music or books or anything.

In short, I was a jittery adolescent, and afraid that because I wasn’t always in fashion, that I had no style.

Going into student politics helped me cut down on my public speaking fears, and gave me the confidence to walk away from situations that are built on nostalgia, whilst learning to juggle several commitments and foster a sense of ownership over the projects I took on, which included helping to fundraise for victims of the Shri Lankan tsunami.

These activities also allowed me to say no to being a shopgirl in Grand Central station, say for instance, even though for a fraction of a momentary hiccup, I did not have the funds to buy a bottle of milk within the first eight weeks of graduating. I stuck it out until I found a suitable job, because I knew I deserved more, deserved better, than becoming a face in the New York crowd.

6. There is great power in sitting out under the stars and just staring up.

Being stuck in the middle of nowhere with a school motto that states simply that Bard’s “A Place to Think” can be flustering when it gets in the way of letting out your stress.

We all need breaks, but given that I was working all the time, I often found that sitting out at the bleachers behind the soccer field at night, at a time when no one else was there, or out in Blithewood’s gorgeous gardens, provided an unparalleled space to just relax, look up, and wonder about my own significance in the cosmos.

It was precisely being surrounded by the Catskills and being in the middle of the Hudson Valley that has always helped me seek out greenery, and find those calming locations in the world which are only possible upon stepping away into the wilderness and staring into the night sky.

English: Bard

English: Bard (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

7. The questions are more important than the answers.

One of the first things that my favorite Anthropology professor told our Language and Mass Media class was that you can’t just say something is problematic. Doing so is passing a judgment which, if unsupported, is a dangerous premise into a narrow-minded stereotyping outlook and worldview that is not conducive to knowledge, and is in fact, completely alien to knowledge itself.

This little tidbit of information stuck with me. Whenever I’ve been put in a problem solving context, I’ve found that always being questioned by my peers helped me to speak up myself, and ask more questions, and question myself and others in a manner that is much more productive than if I had come into situations acting as though I already had the solution.

Which brings me to the next observation:

8. Always surround yourself with people who are smarter than you.

I’m serious about this. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m kind of average, but I’ve been lucky enough to have known great minds.

People who are intelligent tend to have intelligent conversations.

When you find that you’re surrounded by folks who are out to scapegoat you for their personal interests, as is wont to happen frequently in the “real” world of social climbers and sugarcoated hypocrites, it’s important to remain grounded by seeking out those who know more than you, whether it is academically or through their professional experience, or even through the world experience of traveling.

You won’t be disappointed.

Bigger questions are posed by those who think carefully about their surroundings, and I often found this as I made my way into different conversations over my Bard years: everyone’s got something to teach you, and they usually are smarter than you are, in one way or another.

9. Don’t be afraid to do it on your own.

As opposed to my high school click-centric experience, I found several Bardians frequently eating alone at Kline, our dining hall.

They never seemed to be bothered by their solitude. As someone who comes from a large family and went to boarding school, this was naturally different to my familial and familiar surroundings, but over the course of my four years of college, I began to embrace and indeed, savor those moments of being alone.

As soon as I did, the world opened up for me, because I was also able to take time off on soul searching missions across foreign terrain by myself.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, USA.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my friends and I love traveling with others as much as I do by myself, but I’m so incredibly glad that there were others who were like me- not waiting for someone else to act but by doing, proving that it’s okay to have some alone time for yourself.

10. If you read, you can achieve almost anything.

Really. I can’t emphasize this more if I had it blinking in tacky red flashing colors for you on your computer screen.

You are a smart and intelligent human being. We all are, and we may have not all been brought up in environments where we felt unique, but keeping my mind open to a flow of new ideas, or improved concepts, means that I’m constantly educating myself and constantly remaining abreast of the challenges that will indubitably cross my path.

Furthermore, I realized I already have the skill sets necessary to combat whatever falls into my line of vision.

I used to wonder about the 800+ pages of reading per week during senior year, but in retrospect, the sheer pain of having to endure such lengthy pieces of writing helped me remain focused on gleaning the important ideas, summarizing, rehashing, and in short, articulating and formulating ideologies that were constantly shifting to make space for new knowledge.

It’s been seven years since college, but there’s not one day which goes by when I’m not thankful for Bard. It’s made me everything I am today, and then more.

About the author: Raad Rahman graduated from Bard College in 2006, after which point she went on to work with various international organizations at the forefront of exceptional and measurable performativity and impact, ranging from the Asia Society and the International Center for Transitional Justice, to the United Nations Children’s Fund. She currently resides in Bangladesh, and as most Bardians love to do, she’ s intent on following the white rabbit.

You can follow her on Twitter @rad_rahman or Facebook at Raad Rahman.

29 thoughts on “10 Things I Learned at (Bard) College Which I Couldn’t Have Possibly Picked Up Elsewhere

  1. I loved your piece. 33 years out, Bard still has a hold on me.
    I too learned many lessons but number one is never stop thinking. I used to say Bard challenged my premises about everything I held dear. I came to Bard smug. On the surface shy and open minded but from day one Bard was like a mallet to my head. Every teacher that I had contact with in class, in office, or down the road, when down the road meant Adolph’s and having a drink with a professor was no big deal, was a challenge to my personal status quo. Today the young woman who left Bard in 1980 would not recognize me because I have continued to question and through questioning change. Bard gave me that.
    Again thanks for your peice.

    • Wow, thank you so much for this comment. I really and truly appreciate hearing about your Bard experience- and it’s a shame that the younger Bard generations never got to experience the real down the road… it seems you had the most wonderful college experience, and I think it’s safe to say that Bard will never lose its hold on any of us! What a fantastic little institution!

  2. Thank you so much for this trip down memory lane. I empathize with that longing ache you no doubt feel as well when thinking about Bard. It’s most definitely been the making of me. Loved reading your 10 things as they are a great reminder to all us alumns. Wishing you the very best. Youssef, Class of 2000

    • Thank you very much for the kind words, and the encouragement! I hope to live up to it one day. It would be great to hear more about how Bard has shaped you- I’m intending on doing a follow up piece too, so I’d be happy to hear further feedback!

      • Well your point number 7 is something I’m known for saying all the time so I guess that’s a massive indicator. When I graduated, our whole class got a red t-shirt. It had at its center the drawing of a young man with a chicken strapped to his back by a belt. The caption read “Class of 2000,…I’m going to make a lot of money.” Something about that sums up our ethos. Bard has made me into someone who always sees beyond the norm…and that’s inspired by a personal history or upbringing which Bard cultivated and nurtured. What’s clear is that you/we will never meet anyone quite like a fellow Bardian. I’m not sure exactly what it is about us specifically that sets us apart but the question is more important than the answer right?

    • I did let them off very lightly, I completely agree. I figured that a litany against the Career Development office should be an essay in and of itself, and didn’t want my dislike for them to change the entire tone of this piece. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback!

  3. Great piece. I’m a senior currently, and I love Bard so much it hurts. I’m sure you’ve had the utterly alienating experience of visiting other schools and being struck with just how different, remarkable, and important Bard is — “They don’t read 600+ pages in a week? But how do they learn anything?” or “You guys have never read Arendt? Really? Weird…”

    There’s so much to be proud of in Annandale.

    • I can’t disagree with a single word. I’ve often been shocked by other colleges. Perhaps that’s what our “privilege” stands for- that we had readings that covered immensely important topics. Arendt rocks. No one who hopes to take themselves seriously can do so without paying homage to Arendt. Hope your senior year in Annandale treats you very well!

    • Hey thanks so much for the feedback. That’s great. Not sure that I can manage to help out applicants because of some intense travel involving some upcoming projects, but perhaps I can answer a Q&A or some other such session?

      Cheers, and thanks for getting in touch.

  4. Enjoyed your essay; in truth, the best thing about Bard is not just that it is ‘a place to think’, but that it is a place to learn to think for yourself (a pity I can’t italicise those last two words for emphasis), rather than mindlessly and uncritically following the opinions and edicts of others. Indeed, Bard is unusual in that it encourages you to be true to your own truth as an individual while objectively observing and participating in the world. It offers a space to withdraw and reflect and become, and from thence to emerge and enhance and impact.

    I remember a colleague at Bard once saying to me, “You know, everyone who comes to Bard tries really hard to be weird — but you? You really are weird!” — much as that is a reflection on me, it also sums up something unique about Bard: it’s probably about the only campus in the entire US where ‘weirdness’ would ever be perceived as a virtue. But I guess we would not be drawn to Bard in the first place if we did not either already have an inherently strong individualism, or the innate ability and/or drive to express it. But Bard is surely a great anvil in helping to fashion a far more certain individualism in one than they may have had, or had the courage to express, before.

    I also worked with Ben LaFarge on my senior project and am pleased to see you honour him above. He was a great teacher to work with.

    • I agree with everything you’ve just said. I’ve often got into trouble for being “too independent” and “too outspoken” with conservative members of South Asian society after returning to the subcontinent recently. Part of this outspoken nature perhaps has to do with my take-aways from Bard, which questions the nature of class and hierarchy.

      I love hearing from anyone who has had a positive experience with Ben too. He was such a wonderful inspiration for me and still is. The fact that Bardians tried too hard to be weird is only second to what you’ve already pointed out- that we really are a weird bunch, but this weirdness is precisely what attracted me to the school so many years ago, and leaves me excited about it so many years down the lane.

      Thank you very much for the shout out. It’s much appreciated! :)

  5. I was class of ’86, though I transferred away in ’84. I wish I could have had the positive experience you had, because there were many things I liked about Bard, and I often think of it as one of my own personal failures that I didn’t stick it out. But I am alternatively negative towards it in my reflection – it even pains me to read things like this. it was a small school, with many limitations, and maybe I wasn’t the best fit, or maybe I wasn’t ready. But Ben LaFarge was my advisor too, and my favorite teacher, though I took only one class with him (and got a C+ and learned a lot). It’s because of him that I now tell people not to feel you have to try all the professors – if you find one you like take everything he or she offers. I emailed him recently to tell him that. I don’t think he remembered me, but he appreciated it and told me that he was in his 80s now and might retire in a few years.

    • Well, I’m glad that you connected with LaFarge. I’m sorry that you had a horrible experience. I just glanced through your blog and saw your essay on hating the college. To each their own, I guess, and I’m sorry that you were pained to read my piece, but ultimately, we’re all responsible for what we make of our time in college. I went in there wanting to be a writer, and I came out, seven years later, with the same dream, although the lessons I’ve learned have helped establish me on the map as a writer for UNICEF, for helping to word proposals on multimillion dollar projects on transitional justice issues.

      The truth is, these may have been diversions, but whereas you claim that Bard has detracted you from your career path, I find that double majoring in Anthro only helped me score the jobs I needed to stay afloat financially whilst I worked on novels (or not), in my free time.

      Regardless, I thank you for your comment. LaFarge is the man. I am glad to hear he is doing well. He gave me a copy of poems he has been composing for the last decade. Very poignant, even in his older ages.

      • Thank you for the reply and for reading my blog. I have to say the essay I wrote about Bard was written during a minor bought of depression, brought on in part, perhaps, because my daughter is looking at colleges, and as I visit them I keep wishing I could do it over again. “I should have gone here,” and that sort of thing. Who says my experience would have been any different anywhere else? Truth is, I made a number of good friends there and I know I could have gotten more out of it if I had been maybe more confident or more strategic, for instance if I had taken more of Ben’s classes. But my life is full of regrets, it’s not just Bard, so I have to acknowledge the common denominator. Interestingly, before I contacted Ben I googled him and found a poem of his that had been published in the Atlantic. I really liked it, and so I told him so. He said he had only published 11 in his lifetime. I suppose he, too, once dreamed of publishing more and perhaps he settled to teach, but it must have fulfilled him to stay so long at the same place, and to be so appreciated. Life doesn’t turn out the way any of us dream it will. I think it’s wonderful that he gave you a book of his poems. Feel free to post them…

  6. I attended Bard College in 1977-79. My biggest regret in life is my incompletion of education at Bard. This institution has not set me free after over thirty years. I have been, In my dream state, as a ghost walking the campus and classrooms. I just can’t get Bard out of my heart. I will always, as long as I live remember my favorite Pro. Elizabeth Stambler, she taught english literature. Then there were my peers, I still miss the entire Bard experince. Those were the best people, and times of my life! …Closure for me would have been graduating in 1981.

    • I don’t know what exactly made you decide to skip out on finishing your education at Bard, but I appreciate your comment and hope that one day you will feel freed. Thank you for reaching out.

  7. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my part suggest
    to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this
    web site.

Leave a Reply

